De singles økonomi

Fortune Magazine skriver om de single. I USA har de single husholdningene gått fra 13,1% av alle husholdninger i 1960, til 27,6% i 2011.

Det er flere unge menn som lever alene, og det er flere eldre kvinner som lever alene.
One person household charts

Utdrag:

But single life is a collective experience, at least in cities, because the concentrations of solo dwellers help generate what the journalist Ethan Watters calls «urban tribes,» social networks that substitute for traditional families. In Chicago, Figaro and her group of single girlfriends meet up in bars, restaurants, parties, and clubs. They encounter similar tribes, some all male, some with a gender mix.

Uri Ratner, a handsome 39-year-old who lives alone and runs an eight-person digital creative agency out of his loft in the West Loop, socializes five or six nights a week. «To be honest,» he says, «my biggest problem is that I have too many things going on in my schedule. I overcommit. I love online dating, and I know I should be doing it more often. But I’m too busy. Between work and all my friends here, I just don’t have the time.»

Ironically, the 24/7 work culture, which has shattered the barriers between personal and professional life, makes living alone more attractive. After all, long work hours mean plenty of interaction at the office. Says one television producer: «I’m surrounded by a lot of people with similar interests. I do a lot of interacting, talking, e-mail, bopping down the hall to discuss a story or just shoot the shit.» His work friends are his most common companions.

Legg igjen en kommentar

