Flue på vegg | Trenger du en trener? Coach? Det gjorde denne kirurgen.

111003 r21338 p233
Atul Gawande er kirurg og fant ut at han trengte ekstern hjelp. Tall på bl.a. komplikasjoner, gjeninnleggelser og infeksjoner hadde stabilisert seg på et lavt nivå. Det var lite Atul kunne tenke seg for å videre senke disse tallene. Platået var nådd, dette var så god en kirurg som han skulle bli. Helt til han svelget litt yrkesstolthet og ringte en gammel mentor.

Og bare så det er klart: hvis jeg kunne skrive halvparten så godt som Gawande hadde jeg vært fornøyd.

Her er noen utdrag:

I’ve been a surgeon for eight years. For the past couple of them, my performance in the operating room has reached a plateau. I’d like to think it’s a good thing—I’ve arrived at my professional peak. But mainly it seems as if I’ve just stopped getting better.

As I went along, I compared my results against national data, and I began beating the averages. My rates of complications moved steadily lower and lower. And then, a couple of years ago, they didn’t. It started to seem that the only direction things could go from here was the wrong one.

Not long afterward, I watched Rafael Nadal play a tournament match on the Tennis Channel. The camera flashed to his coach, and the obvious struck me as interesting: even Rafael Nadal has a coach. Nearly every élite tennis player in the world does. Professional athletes use coaches to make sure they are as good as they can be.
But doctors don’t. I’d paid to have a kid just out of college look at my serve. So why did I find it inconceivable to pay someone to come into my operating room and coach me on my surgical technique?

So outside ears, and eyes, are important for concert-calibre musicians and Olympic-level athletes. What about regular professionals, who just want to do what they do as well as they can? I talked to Jim Knight about this. He is the director of the Kansas Coaching Project, at the University of Kansas. He teaches coaching—for schoolteachers. For decades, research has confirmed that the big factor in determining how much students learn is not class size or the extent of standardized testing but the quality of their teachers. Policymakers have pushed mostly carrot-and-stick remedies: firing underperforming teachers, giving merit pay to high performers, penalizing schools with poor student test scores. People like Jim Knight think we should push coaching.

I decided to try a coach. I called Robert Osteen, a retired general surgeon, whom I trained under during my residency, to see if he might consider the idea. He’s one of the surgeons I most hoped to emulate in my career. His operations were swift without seeming hurried and elegant without seeming showy. He was calm. I never once saw him lose his temper. He had a plan for every circumstance. He had impeccable judgment. And his patients had unusually few complications.

Hva som skjedde med treneren til Atul får du finne ut her.

Trenger makroøkonomer trenere?

Merket med ,

Legg igjen en kommentar

